Redefine Beauty March: Abby Drum

Every month, beginning with March, I will have a featured person who I believe is redefining beauty.

This month, I’d like to introduce my sister, Abby Drum.

Winter 2016 255

Abby is a very unique individual. Ever since she was little, she has had a fascination with unusual things. When she was five, she asked for a big red jeep for Christmas. She also enjoyed playing with Hot Wheels and Thomas the Tank Engine when most girls were playing with Barbies. As Abby grew older, she wanted to be a meteorologist because she liked the clouds. However, I believe she just loved to watch the way they rolled during a thunderstorm. Abby loved the beauty that was created out of the chaos.

dragon eyes

She began drawing in the third grade but it wasn’t until the eighth that she began to notice just how good she was. She then decided she wanted to be an artist. Dragons inspired her with their mysterious eyes and powerful presence. She began to draw them so detailed that I began to wonder if she had seen one herself.

 

Abby’s love for video games such as Minecraft, quickly inspired her style of art. At age 15, she now wants to be a creature concept designer. You can check out her DeviantArt page here. I also love this drawing below she did that is absolutely beautiful. It really shows what she can do. Now, I’ll be the first one to admit that I don’t fully understand the whole Minecraft thing, but you have to admit, kid’s got talent.

These are the things that make her special. These are the things that make her beautiful. So how exactly is she redefining beauty?

Winter 2016 245

Abby doesn’t wear makeup like most girls her age. She feels the most comfortable in jeans, plaid, and sneakers or Keds. But most of all, she doesn’t care what other people think of her. This is who she is and that is the way it’s going to be. There is no changing her. Believe me, I’ve tried to get her to wear just a little bit of makeup but she is stubborn. Still, I admire her. I won’t even go to Walmart of all places without at least some foundation on! I care too much about what people think of me, whereas Abby doesn’t.

 

Just talking with her gives you a clear view of who she is as a person. For example, Abby is a pacifist. She hates conflict and wants everyone to get along and love each other. Her favorite things about herself are her hyperness and ability to draw.

However, we all have things we don’t like about ourselves. Even the confident, care-free Abby is self-conscious of her crooked teeth, covered in braces at the moment, and her height, or lack-there-of. What she does love about her body is that she is petite which allows her to be very flexible. Might I add that she also likes to freak people out by putting her legs behind her head.

When asked what her definition of beauty was, she replied,

I don’t need to define beauty to know what beauty is, for beauty is more one’s perception of their reality.

Having said this, she then looked at me and muttered in her humorous fashion, “Real poetic shit right there.”

Winter 2016 247

I believe my sister is inspiring and redefining what it means to be beautiful. So, I leave you with one final quote.

Don’t ever be afraid to be yourself.

-Abby Drum

 

xoxo,

-M

Leave a Reply

