Redefine Beauty June: Bryanna Suter

This month, I’d like to introduce one of my very best friends in the whole entire world, Bryanna Suter.

 

DSC_0276

Bryanna has been my best friend since the 3rd grade. We both grew up in the same neighborhood, riding our bikes and playing in the creek together, building tree houses and playing make believe. Throughout all those years, our friendship has grown into a beautiful sister bond, though we hardly ever fight. We may disagree at times, but we’ve never had a full blown fight. We just talk things through like you should. We tell each other the truth, even if it hurts. We’re always there for each other, even through the hard times. We think with the same mind most of the time, and I can say that I laugh the most when we’re together, whether it’s hiking up the mountains, eating sushi, or shopping at T.J. Maxx. Life is just better with my best friend around.

DSC_0300

Bry and I graduated high school together in 2014. It was then that she decided she wanted to pursue a long-time aspiration of becoming a nurse. When she was little, her grandmother babysat her quite often. Sometimes she would bring Bryanna to the nursing home, where she worked as a nurse. Bryanna quickly made friends with the elderly patients which her grandmother cared for. That experience sparked an interest in her. Flash forward several years in high school anatomy class and her interest is sparked once again. This time, as an interest in neonatal nursing. Learning about the reproductive system and “how God can make a human out of another human” is what also contributed to her dream of becoming a nurse. “I just want to be able to help people everyday,” she tells me.

DSC_0279

Bryanna Suter is one of the most kind, selfless, and courageous person you’ll ever meet. Her positivity and optimism in even the worst of times shows her strength and is, in fact, one of her favorite qualities about herself. Her freckles are her favorite thing about her appearance. “Mommy says they’re angel kisses,” Bry says, giggling. And she loves her long hair but is not so fond of her cow lick on the front of her hairline. When it comes to her height, Bryanna has a love/hate relationship with it. She’s 5’8”, which is relatively tall considering the normal height for women is about 5’5”. “It’s hard because I like having long legs but sometimes people look at me like, ‘wow, you’re a giant!'”

If I think about all the things I don’t like about myself, I’ll just end up hating myself. And you have to love yourself.”

DSC_0249

Her definition of beauty:

Being who you are. Everyone is beautiful in their own way. It’s more important to have a beautiful heart than a beautiful appearance.”

-Bryanna Suter

So how is Bryanna redefining beauty? It’s not hard to see:

Theatre in high school taught me that you’re the most beautiful when you’re yourself. There were so many people in that class that tried so hard to be something they weren’t and it made me sad. I only wish they could’ve seen that they’re perfect the way they are.”

I am truly lucky to call Bryanna my best friend. There is not one else I’d rather eat buffalo chicken dip and binge watch Game of Thrones with.

Surround yourself with people that love you and you’ll live a happy life.”

-Bryanna Suter

xoxo,

-M

Leave a Reply

