Redefine Beauty July: Madison Harrison

Meet Madison Harrison, one of my bestest friends in the whole entire world!

maddy3
Fun Fact: That necklace is a replica of Katherine Pierce’s from The Vampire Diaries (her favorite show). I got it for her for Christmas last year.

I’ve known Madison since elementary school. My mother was her first grade teacher and we also played softball together for several years. We’ve been friends for a long time but we never were close until high school. A little over 2 years since graduation and we’re still the best of friends.

seniors
Bryanna, Me, and Maddy our senior year of high school.

Madison is one of the most beautiful, generous, inspirational souls I’ve ever had the pleasure to call my best friend. She is always there for me to talk to when I need her and though her school (WCU) is farther away than I’d like, we still always have a blast when we hang out. Whether it’s Fruity Pebble cheese cake and scary movies–to which I sing “Jesus Loves Me” the whole time–or a paint party and blind folded makeovers, Madison is truly one of the most amazing people in my life. She always keeps me laughing.

 

At our sleepovers, Madison used to get so tired late at night, that she started rambling about blue water buffaloes and purple smurfs. I have a whole book somewhere of crazy things that she’s said when she’s sleep deprived. She even left me a voicemail once saying how much she loved me and I was her bestest friend in the whole world. No matter the weather, Maddy can always bring a smile to my face.

maddy2

Madison is an aspiring educator, or as she put it, “The future educator of a future Beyoncé or the future president.” She loves kids and wants to make a difference in their lives. That is a gift that only certain people have. I should know, my mom is a teacher! Don’t get me wrong, I love kids, but I could never teach. That’s a job that is mentally exhausting. But Madison has the gift. She’s been working at Wrap-Around (an after school/summer school for elementary kids) as a teacher for the summer and her kids absolutely adore her.

This picture above is one that a student drew her. Of the picture, she wrote,

I wasn’t feeling too well yesterday and I know my kids could tell. Even though I wasn’t feeling my best, I tried very hard to hide it and carry on as I usually would. My kids were absolute angels yesterday (which is sometimes not the case). I even received this from one of my first graders at the end of the day! Even if I’m having the worst day, seeing my kids happy brings me such joy!”

Another amazing thing about Maddy is that she also has an uncanny resemblance to Natalie Dormer, an actress known for her roles in Game of Thrones, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, and The Tudors.

maddy natalie
Madison (left) and Natalie Dormer (right). “I didn’t choose the Dormer life, the Dormer life chose me.”

Madison is inspirational because she knows she’s not perfect, yet she loves herself and continues down the path of body positivity and a happy, healthy life. And that alone makes her someone who is redefining what it means to be beautiful. Maddy doesn’t like that she’s so emotional sometimes, and can cry easily. She also says she dislikes her back fat, but hey, we’ve all got it! What she does love is her curves and the way she will always help others before she helps herself. It’s that kind of selflessness that makes her one of a kind.

maddy4

Her definition of beauty:

Beauty comes from the inside. You can be as beautiful as Megan Fox and still be ugly to me if you have an ugly attitude.”

maddy

Madison truly is the definition of beauty. I’m lucky to call her my best friend. She is teaching me to love myself and I’m following in her example every day. Maddy is a tough, sassy, caring woman whom I’ll always call a best friend.

Do things with your whole heart. Also, maybe don’t let 5 year olds listen to Panda in a school setting.”

-Madison Harrison

xoxo,

-M

P.S. Check out this article Madison wrote: An Open Letter To My Best Friends Back At Home

 

Leave a Reply

