Remember That Time When I Sat Front Row at a Taylor Swift Concert?

October 22, 2012 Taylor Swift released her 4th album, RED. Coincidentally, October 22 just so happens to be my birthday and Taylor Swift just so happens to be my idol. Adding to this unusual streak of luck, one of the songs on RED was titled 22, which also is my lucky number. With all that luck swirling around, something incredible is bound to happen…right?

Well, shortly after the tour dates were released for the RED Tour, my amazing cousin, Davis, texted me saying she bought us tickets to see Taylor when her tour came to Greensboro, NC. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. When the day finally arrived the next September, I could hardly contain myself. Ed Sheeran was opening for Taylor and I’m a huge fan of his too. Davis had warned me that the seats probably weren’t that good because at $100 a piece, they were all that we could afford. So I made a light up sign to make up for it.

RED11

On the way there we listened to a RED Tour playlist I created on my iPod to get us pumped. I wore my RED t-shirt and my red Keds, along with some rockin’ red lipstick.

RED10
Me (left) and my cousin, Davis (right) before the show.

When we walked in, the place was huge. My heart was racing just knowing that Taylor Swift, in the flesh, was breathing the same air we were.

RED4

Looking at our tickets, we were led to our seats at the top of the arena…in the nose bleed section. Thinking about it, this was my first real concert…and I was way up here. But it was all okay, because I had my light up sign and Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeran were at the same place I was. This was going to be a great night, I could feel it.

RED

When Ed Sheeran started playing, I turned off the lights in the “R” on my “RED” sign so it lit up “ED”. Davis and I were in love with his voice, singing along perfectly to every song, knowing every word. We danced quite a bit, and the man sitting beside me got whacked a few times with my sign. Oops. I could tell he didn’t want to be there. He sat down the whole time like a prude. His daughters had probably dragged him there. But still, this is Taylor Swift concert we’re talking about!

Then something extraordinary happened. A woman that worked there came up to us as we were screaming and dancing obnoxiously. I was being so obnoxiously oblivious that I didn’t even notice she was asking us anything at first.

“Would you like to sit front row?” she asked us.

I was in shock, but my jaw dropped to the floor. All I could do was nod and follow Davis as the woman lead us back into the lobby. All around us, a hand full of wild and crazed fans began to enter in the lobby. Some were screaming, some were crying, some were “omg”-ing, and some, like us, were in shock. I thought this couldn’t be happening, this stuff only happens in dreams and movies and to lucky people.

Then we saw Andrea Swift (Taylor’s mom) and I knew it was real. “I’m so glad you’re all here,” Andrea told us. She came over to me and hugged me, then Davis as I muttered “Thank you for making Taylor!” like a fool. Then she led us to our seats in THE FRONT ROW.

“This is really happening.” Davis kept saying in disbelief, “This is real life. We are sitting front row at a Taylor Swift concert!”

When we got to the front row, Ed Sheeran was finishing up his set. The stage was so close I could actually touch it. I mean I literally reached my hand out and touched the stage. After Ed had left, we waited about 5 minutes or so for Taylor to appear, and she did not disappoint. Suddenly, the lights dimmed and a silhouette appeared on the curtain in front of us as the intro to State of Grace began and it felt more and more like a dream.

RED5

The crowd went wild, screaming and chanting her name. And then itย began. The blur of something so magical that no one could explain it. Being that close to her, for a moment, you felt what it was like to be her. The adoration, the immortality, the beauty and grace.

She was flawless. Everything about her was perfect. Hell, she even had sparkly tights. Every song, every performance told a story. Beautifully written and choreographed, designed to capture you in that moment.

There was a point in the beginning where she took off that fabulous black hat and walked over to me. She looked me in the eyes for a brief moment but then bent over and gently placed that hat on the person standing next to me. I was briefly heart broken, but he was so happy and excited that I couldn’t help but be happy for him too. Besides, she looked into the windows of my soul. That’s really all anyone can ask.

RED8

RED9
During The Lucky One.
RED6
Taylor singing Mean with her banjo.

After the concert, we stuck around to see if we could try and get into Club Red, which is what they were calling the secret behind the scenes meet-and-greet this year. The album before, Speak Now, it was called the T-Party. We didn’t get in, but wow. What a night!

When Davis and I got to the car later that night, we sat there for a moment in silence, just taking it all in.

“Morgan, that just happened. We just sat front row at a Taylor Swift concert.” she said staring straight ahead. “I know.” I told her in disbelief. Then she smiled and shook her head. “We are going to remember this moment, right here, for the rest of our lives.”

And I didn’t want to leave. I had to go to school the next morning and I really didn’t want to go back to reality. All I could think is, I’ll never be the same.

At school, everyone was going about business as usual, but they didn’t know what I knew. They didn’t see what I saw last night. They didn’t sit front row at a Taylor Swift concert.

RED7

And I was like, ‘Oh my! What a marvelous tune!’ It was the best night, never will forget how we moved. The whole place was dressed to the nines and we were dancing, dancing like we’re made of starlight.

Don’t you see the starlight?…

Don’t you dream impossible things?…”

 

xoxo,

xoxo-M

Leave a Reply

