Go Cry and Complain

Life is tough. Life is unpredictable. But it’s also beautiful. Life is what you make it.

I work part-time as a cashier at a grocery store and every day people come in and just complain. There’s always something. We don’t have anymore Sunbeam bread left on the shelves, there’s not a price on this, “I’m tired, I’ve been working twelve hours and I have to go back.” I cannot tell you how many times a day someone tells me that they’re tired. You and everyone else, bud. Don’t even get me started on the chip readers. “I hate these damn chips.” “I liked the old way better.” “It’s so slow!” “I hate that beeping noise! It sounds like I’ve done something wrong!” WE GET IT, THEY SUCK. But let’s face it, the general public just sucks.

So the other day, this older woman comes through my line. I’ve seen her a couple times before, but I didn’t fully remember her until she started talking to me. She’s the woman that complains. But let me tell you, no one complains like she does. This woman yells her complaints for the whole world to hear.

When she comes through my line, I say (as we’re obligated to do), “Hi, how are you doing today?” Which she takes as an invitation to do what she does best. “I’m awful!” Then she proceeds to tell me about how awful her life is and how she just has to take care of her elderly parents and her sister won’t help her out.

I understand that is an awful situation to be in. It’s hard to take care of two elderly parents. It drains the life out of you and to not have the support of you sister to carry some of the load, that’s awful. If your parents raised you, you think you could return the favor. That being said, this boisterous woman who is now holding up the line with her rant is only telling me this because she is looking for a pat on the back. “Wow, your life sure is hard! You are a saint for doing that all by yourself!” Is that what you want me to say? Well, I refuse to say it.

When she finally left (throwing her cart around because now she’s fired up again about how her life is just so unfair) the lady behind her who was patiently waiting without complaint tells me that she just had surgery and did not feel well but she was not going to complain about it for 20 minutes.

The thing is, you cannot say that your life is harder than another. Everyone struggles just as much as you at some point in their lives. The truth of the matter is, complaining gets you no where. 

Life is tough. Life is unpredictable. But it’s also beautiful. Life is what you make it.

“Life is either a grand adventure or nothing.”

I’m not saying you can’t complain. Sometimes it’s good to complain. Sometimes you just need to get it out. But not the the cashier who doesn’t know you. You complain to your friend who understands. You complain to your parents who have words of wisdom to share. For heaven’s sake, complain to God! He is the best listener in the world! But for future reference, don’t complain to cashiers. If all else fails, go see a therapist who gets paid to listen to your problems!

It’s seems hard to see the good in a world that seems mostly bad, but it’s actually easier than you think. You just have to know where to look. And most of the time, it’s right in front of you.

I’ve found that it’s easiest to see good when you see the world through the eyes of a child. For instance, the very existence of trees is something that baffles me. They don’t ever move, but they are alive and live longer than humans. They grow and change with the seasons, hell, they even breathe! Yet, they’re in animate objects. Then there’s butterflies that go through their short life floating through the air and kissing flowers. And there’s sunsets and sunrises that paint the sky with emotions that can fill your soul. There’s the stars on a dark night…and the moon. There’s laughter, there’s love,…there’s hope.

As my mother always says, focus on the good.

xoxo,

xoxo-M

 

Leave a Reply

